On the 28th February 2022 Cornwall Council published a paper called ‘Leisure Procurement Outcomes’ which will be used as the basis for Cornwall Council Cabinet decisions on Friday 4th March.  Tragically, the paper recommends the closure of Falmouth’s Ships and Castles Leisure Centre.

On 15th February, responding to Cornwall Council’s Leisure Services procurement, Pendennis Leisure CIC submitted a proposal to renew and operate Ships & Castles.  Cornwall Council has not communicated with us about our plans until 5pm today, just as news of the proposed closing date being 31st March started circulating.  We are now preparing to respond to Cornwall Council’s Cabinet paper.

We respectfully ask that everyone in Falmouth, Penryn and surrounding areas write urgently to their local councillors, to Cornwall Councillor Richard Pears and to our MP Cherilyn Mackrory MP, to demand that they support the continued operation of Ships & Castles.  Please, please help us and email those responsible for this decision NOW, don’t delay or it will be too late and our swimming pool will be lost. We invite everyone to show Cornwall Council Cabinet how much they care about this by attending the cabinet meeting at 10 am Friday 4th March, in person at Lys Kernow (County Hall) or virtually using this link.

We would like to offer our sincere sympathies and support to the Ships and Castles workers, members and customers who will be so badly affected by this proposal.  We will continue to do all we can to keep Ships & Castles operating.

What can you do? Contact your local councillor below and tell them what impact the closure will have for you and your family. Urge them to let the Cornwall Council Cabinet know before the critical meeting on Friday.

Constantine, Mabe & Mawnan – John Bastin – cllr.john.bastin@cornwall.gov.uk

Falmouth Arwenack – Laurie Magowan – cllr.laurie.magowan@cornwall.gov.uk

Falmouth Boslowick – Alan Jewell – cllr.alan.jewell@cornwall.gov.uk

Falmouth Penwerris – Jayne Kirkham – cllr.jayne.kirkham@cornwall.gov.uk

Falmouth Trescobeas & Budock – David Saunby – cllr.david.saunby@cornwall.gov.uk

Mylor, Perranarworthal & Ponsanooth – Peter Williams – cllr.peter.williams@cornwall.gov.uk

Penryn – Tamsyn Widdon – cllr.tamsyn.widdon@cornwall.gov.uk

Cornwall Councillor for Customers (including Leisure) Richard Pears: cllr.richard.pears@cornwall.gov.uk

Cherilyn Mackrory MP  https://www.cherilynmackrory.org.uk/

Cornwall Council Cabinet member for public health – Andy Virr  cllr.andrew.virr@cornwall.gov.uk

Cornwall Council Cabinet Extraordinary Meeting 4th March

https://democracy.cornwall.gov.uk/ieListDocuments.aspx?CId=577&MId=11638&Ver=4